Wednesday, 14 April 2010


In ancient geography, especially in Roman sources, Dacia was the land inhabited by the Dacians and Getae - the North-Danubian branches of the Thracians. Dacia had in the middle the Carpathian Mountains and was bounded approximately by the Danubius river, in Greek sources Istros (the Danube) or, at its greatest extent, by the Haemus Mons (the Balkan Mountains) to the south–Moesia (Dobrogea), a region south of the Danube, was a core area where the Getae lived and interacted with the Ancient Greeks–Pontus Euxinus (the Black Sea) and river Danastris, in Greek sources Tyras (the Dniester) to the east (but several Dacian settlements are recorded in part of area between Dniester and Hypanis river (the Bug), and Tisia (the Tisza) to the west (but at times included areas between Tisa and middle Danube). It thus corresponds to modern countries of Romania and Moldova, as well as smaller parts of Bulgaria, Serbia, Hungary, and Ukraine.

History of Romania

This article is part of a series

This is some of the things Romania went through.



Dacian Wars

Roman Dacia


Early Middle Ages

Origin of the Romanians

Middle Ages

History of Transylvania

Principality of Transylvania

Foundation of Wallachia

Foundation of Moldavia

Early Modern Times


Danubian Principalities

National awakening

Organic Statute

1848 Moldavian Revolution

1848 Wallachian Revolution

United Principalities

War of Independence

Kingdom of Romania

World War I

Greater Romania

World War II

Soviet occupation of Bessarabia and Northern Bukovina

Communist Romania

Soviet occupation

1989 Revolution

Romania since 1989

Dacians and Getae were North Thracian tribes.[1] Dacian tribes had both peaceful and military encounters with other neighboring tribes, such as Celts, Ancient Germanics, Sarmatians, and Scythians, but were most influenced by the Ancient Greeks and Romans. The latter eventually conquered, and linguistically and culturally assimilated the Dacians. A Dacian Kingdom of variable size existed between 82 B.C. until the Roman conquest in 106 A.D. The capital of Dacia, Sarmizegetusa, located in modern Romania, was destroyed by the Romans, but its name was added to that of the new city (Ulpia Traiana Sarmizegetusa) built by the latter to serve as the capital of the

No comments:

Post a Comment